The Merit of Tyco RCs

After spending the past year meticulously cleaning, repairing, and upgrading my hobby-grade RCs, I came to the stark revelation that  I probably spend 50x more time working/worrying/buying-stuff-for my supposedly indestructible expensive toys than actually playing with them.  Meanwhile, I can remember my old Tyco RCs being pretty maintenance free and just as much fun to bash around.

Granted, toy-grade RCs don’t go 50mph and take 15′ jumps, but their low cost and kiddie-appeal led to some interesting designs that you just don’t see in hobby stores.  Traxxas makes a big deal out of being waterproof, but if your truck has normal tires as opposed to tank treads, screw drives, snow skis, etc., it’s not much fun in the snow or water anyway!  While some of Tyco’s designs were really gimmicky and energy inefficient, some have proven to be solid platforms.  Many of them are still emulated today.

So, with this in mind, I’ve gotten the bug to start collecting Tyco RCs.  One of the more intriguing/frustrating parts of choosing this hobby is the lack of information on the internet. While I can get into the minutiae of hobby-grade models with fellow enthusiasts, I haven’t found a community dedicated to toy-grade RCs.  Granted, most of these toys are considered disposable, and the kids who own them aren’t likely to be serious hobbyists, but I thought at least for nostalgia value I would find a bunch of fellow collectors, but that doesn’t seem to be the case.

I’m primarily aiming to chronicle my descent into collecting these awesome toys and sharing what I find along the way, but would also like to connect with other collectors.  I am currently collecting info on Tycos and dumping what I find in a spreadsheet.  I’ll post it here once I have it cleaned up, but I would really like to create a wiki for Tyco RCs, or at least contribute my findings to wikipedia.  If you are interested in contributing in any way (info, wiki experience, etc.), please let me know.

About nixzero

I'm a (nearly) 30 year old AZ native, and all you really need to know about me is that I am a sort of "nerd-of-all-trades". I have a lot of different interests. Many of these interests are hobbies, meaning that I have toys that cost a lot of money, take hours to build/fix, and break in minutes. As of this writing I don't really have a focus for the blog outside of sharing information about my hobbies. In most hobbies, collecting information is just as important as collecting itself, so I'm hoping this will allow me to share what I've found with others and vice-versa. I don't really read blogs so if mine looks janky or the content is random and sporadic, I'm not surprised. I would be surprised, however, if people actually read this. :P View all posts by nixzero

2 responses to “The Merit of Tyco RCs

  • Jerry

    This is awesome! I recall many of these although I am in my mid 20s I often would look for and find these cars when I was young and often times they were a bit older but still better than anything you could find on the shelf at that time… I recall buying a couple air devils on sale at farm and fleet etc. Recently I got heavy into this… I have a good size collection now most new in box that were not easy to find! I would love to share some info. Feel free to email me. Great material. I have a ton of parts cars also back home because I never threw anything away hehe still have yet to go through the boxes of the older cars but my parents did save them I know for a fact.

  • shane

    hey, i am a Collector of Tyco R/C’s, i Started back in the Mid 90’s When i got my first Tyco “Rebound” for Xmas, Unfortunately i missed some of the Vintage Tyco R/C Cars such as Fast Traxx and Bandit but i was fortunate enough to Own Such Later Tyco’s as the Psycho and Super Rebound, My Collection is Ongoing although no longer from retail stores as Sadly Tyco R/C no longer exists, Mattel now only release R/C’S Through the Hot Wheels R/C Devision, i now get all my Tyco’s from Ebay and my latest purchase is The TMH Nitro Dozer from around 1998 which i am waiting untill xmas morning to open for the pure Nostalgia Factor, If you have any Questions please dont hesitate to ask,

Leave a Reply

